Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ST7 instability with AN1905 sensorless BLDC motor control software

jon239955
Associate II
Posted on August 13, 2010 at 19:07

Hi everyone,

I apologize in advance for what is bound to be a very generic-sounding question, but I've been staring at this bug for a week and feel like posting here might at the very least be cathartic 🙂

I'm using the AK-ST7FMC motor control kit with the 3-phase sensorless brushless DC motor control software library described in AN-19 The chip itself is an ST7FMC2N6B6, and I'm using the Cosmic C compiler (in small memory model mode), STVD7, and an inDART-STX. I am new to the chip, the compiler, the emulator...everything.

I've modified the software to start and stop the motor periodically. I use Timer A to generate an interrupt at a selectable period. From the Timer A ISR I invoke a callback function via a function pointer that in turn sets a flag indicating that it's time to start the motor. The program's main loop sees the flag and calls MTC_StartMotor. The D/C event ISR increments a counter with each autoswitched commutation. The main loop periodically samples the counter and calls MTC_StopMotor when the counter passes a target threshold. The sequence then repeats.