Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32Cube versus STD_peripheral

andre239955_st
Associate II
Posted on March 30, 2016 at 15:01

Hi all,

I have been working with ST for many years but the Cube software might make me move to a different brand! The Cube might be nice for newbies but it is a PAIN for people like me who need to push the micro's to their limits.

So please ST, give me back the std_peripheral!
11 REPLIES 11
Lead
Posted on March 30, 2016 at 15:17

From your lips to ST's ears !

But honestly, I got the impression that the Cube project is held up by higher, non-technical management decision, despite the obvious divergence between advertisement and reality. And thus it won't go away that easily ...

You can try to create you own library, though, if the notorious register-banging is no option ...

Radosław
Senior
Posted on March 30, 2016 at 15:27

The best choise, don't use any library ;). Like many profesionalist.

Walid FTITI_O
Senior II
Posted on March 30, 2016 at 15:47

Hi

The STM32Cube is a new approach for STM32 libraries offering HAL functions which are hardware independent. So you may use the same prototype for almost all products.

The STM32Cube comes with the

tool which is a initialization code generator. Please refer to

http://www.st.com/st-web-ui/static/active/en/resource/technical/document/user_manual/DM00104712.pdf

for more details on how to use it.

You still be able to use  standard libraries and still exist new release published in our website. You need just to have new standard library release downloaded locally.

For any help regarding STM32Cube or Standard library, please submit your request on the forum ''

[DEAD LINK /public/STe2ecommunities/mcu/Lists/STM32Java/AllItems.aspx]STM32 Software Tools and Firmware

''.

-Hannibal-
andre239955_st
Associate II
Posted on April 12, 2016 at 12:12

Hi Hannibal,