Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to clear I2C BUSY bit in STM8S-discovery

rgovindappa9
Associate II
Posted on March 01, 2011 at 11:28

Hello Friends,

I am a newbie to the world of microcontroller programming. I am stuck with a deadlock and am not able to move even a bit. The BUSY bit in I2C.SR3 is set it is not getting freed, according to datasheet it can be set only Hardware, it is also listed in errata list to be solved in future versions. I tried unplugging & plugging the board  again it worked in one or two instances, I am tired of doing this again and again with no success - it is completely undeterministic. Please help my way out

Regards,

Raghavendra

#i2c-busy-bit-set
7 REPLIES 7
saurabh23
Associate II
Posted on July 16, 2011 at 01:47

We too are facing the same problem as you do. We are using STM32F103R8 controller.

We tried to do timeouts and then reset the I2C bus, but that does not help it recover. We first thought it was the slave not responding but it took us a lot of time to find that the controller is the culprit. We see that the I2C is stuck up in the while loop waiting for the ack from the slave (EV6) after sending the slave address on the bus.

Could you please tell us if you have found a soultion to this I2C stuck up in EV6 loop issue.

Tobias Kruehn
Associate II
Posted on October 06, 2017 at 10:56

Hello,

same hiere. I am using a stm8s003 with I2C sometimes the I2C statemachine get stuck. The Osci tells my the same: Address sent but then bus stops. Reducing the bus speed from 100 kHz to 50 Hz helps a bit and reducing the interrupt priority of all other interrupts helps a bit. Looks like a timing issue though.

Nevertheless, sometimes the controller hangs. So far I did not find a solution.

Posted on November 10, 2017 at 01:28

Hi Tobias,

were you be able to solve the BUSY_Flag issue? I have the same problem.

Lucian Romonti
Associate
Posted on April 29, 2018 at 02:09