Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32VLDiscovery with KEIL µVision4 IDE crash on load/debug

aj1
Associate II
Posted on April 02, 2011 at 06:26

Hey everyone!

This is my first time here and a complete novice with this microprocessor.

We are using it (STM32VLDiscovery) for our Senior Design Project in Electrical/Computer Engineering. We just switched from another board to this one. We are using the KEIL µVision4 IDE. The problem only occurs on 2 of our laptops out of 4. When we try to Load the Built project to the Microcontroller the software crashes. Down in the Build Output Frame it says: 

''

Load ''C:\\Keil\\ARM\\Boards\\ST\\STM32-Discovery\\Blinky\\Flash\\Blinky.AXF''''</span></div>

right before it crashes. It displays the standard windows msg saying ''µVIsion4 IDE has stopped working... Windows is checking for a solution.''

In the details of that msg box it says the fault module is 

STLinkUSBDriver.dll

I tried contacting KEIL about the issue and they referred me to contact ST about it. I have submitted an online help request but I thought I would post it here as well since its obviously an issue for more people than just myself. 

In the Debug & Utilities tabs I have ST-Link Debugger accepted. Also in the Utilities I have ''update target before debugging'' checkbox checked. I am setup as the administrator on my system and I have even tried rightclicking the app and selecting run as administrator just to be sure. I've tried redownloading and reinstalling the IDE about a half dozen times now and becoming very frustrated with it. 

I am running Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit with a AMD dual core processor. 

If I have left anything out please let me know and I will be sure to include it!

Thanks in advance!

~A.J.

5 REPLIES 5
jepjoh2
Associate II
Posted on April 02, 2011 at 17:02

I think the problem is that the ST-Link driver doesn't work on a 64bit machine

There has been some discussion about this in the forum some time ago

aj1