Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32 and PIC32

sami
Associate II
Posted on May 07, 2012 at 10:38

Hi all ;

I  have a new project with short deadtime to finish;  I have been using STM32 for 2 years and so PIC32 for on year ; but I noticed that microchip is giving a complete working library ; for example file system (fat32/fat16) USB , TCP/IP. In my project there will be USB host with file system ; but i could not find any free library like the one in microchip for STM32. To be honest I would like to use STM32 but PIC32 is forcing me to us it. 

Is there really any free library usb/ sdcard with file system ? 

#usb-host-library #free-if-you-dont-value-your-time
14 REPLIES 14
root
Associate II
Posted on May 07, 2012 at 11:14

Hello,

Honnestly, it took me a few months to get the ST USB stack to work correctly (and still not perfectly ...).

I used to work with Microchip before ... I like STM32's processing power, bunch of peripherals, etc ... but the I2C is crap, the USB stack is buggy like nothing else, plus the need for commercial dev tools (I'm using TASKING for ARM).

If you need to dev fast, don't care too much about the MCU price in the final design, and/or don't want to spend money on new tools, go for the PIC32.

I went to STM32 initialy because of the lack of PWM inputs/outputs on the STM32 (needed at least 10).

Thomas.
Andrew Neil
Evangelist
Posted on May 07, 2012 at 12:23

''I  have a new project with short deadtime (sic?) to finish''

I presume you mean, ''deadline''?

So, if time-to-complete is your key issue, then that nust be a (the?) key criterion in your microcontroller selection.

''microchip is giving a complete working library''

That's the advantage (to the chip manufacturer) of having a proprietary architecture: it means that they know you are locked-in, because the stuff cannot be (directly) used on any competitor's products!

''i could not find any free library like the one in microchip for STM32''