Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIO driving outside logic

pritz1
Associate II
Posted on June 08, 2011 at 02:31

Hello,

I am a student and I am starting my final project a little early, and I am glad I did because I am really confused!  I am making a guitar-playing robot that I am going to drive off of this handy-dandy microcontroller.  Basicly I am going to put a file similar to a guitar tab in the FLASH memory and have my main C code interpret it and set output pins connected to some extra logic that will eventually drive some solenoids and stepper motors that will play the guitar.

I am having trouble setting the output pin voltage.  Here is what I have:

<code>

GPIO_InitTypeDef GPIO_InitStructure;

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Pin = GPIO_Pin_12;

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Mode = GPIO_Mode_Out_PP;

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Speed = GPIO_Speed_50MHz;

GPIO_Init(GPIOC, &GPIO_InitStructure);

GPIO_WriteBit(GPIOC, GPIO_Pin_12, Bit_SET);

</code>

I want to be able to set any given output pin to either a high or low voltage to drive external logic.  I was under the impression that this code should set the output pin C12 to a high voltage, but when i use a voltmeter to compare it to ground it reads 0 volts.  What am I doing wrong?

Any other thoughts?  Is reading a file going to be more complicated than standard C file IO?

I am using Atollic TrueSTUDIO STM32 Lite as my dev environment.

Thank you much,

Jack

#gpio #gpio-mode
6 REPLIES 6
pritz1
Associate II
Posted on June 08, 2011 at 02:35

I have attached all of my main.c to this reply for your convenience.  I took some sample code that makes the an LED blink at different speeds and added my own code to the beginning of the main function to try it out.

Andrew Neil
Evangelist
Posted on June 08, 2011 at 09:31

''I took some sample code that makes the an LED blink''