cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Defining GPIO ports as inputs

jjhopkotcha
Associate II
Posted on July 22, 2011 at 11:07

Hi there, I am fairly new to programming these chips, I am currently coding using the IAR Embedded Workspace and loading my program onto an STM32F100 LQFP48 chip.

Currently I have pins PB8, PB9, PB10, PB11, PB12, PA11, PA12, PB15 set up as outputs which power 8 LED's. 

I am using to of the outputs to control a small DC motor using a H-Bridge. In order to control the movement of my DC motor I have a couple of micro-switches which limit the rotation of my motor. I need my program to be able to respond to signals from these micro-switches which requires defining some of my GPIO's on my chip as inputs. 

I have a small PCB board for programming my chip and there are lots of test pins which I could solder onto, many of these are GPIO's such as PB0-PB2, presumably these would be fine. 

Any help would be seriously appreciated. 

Thanks

#lqfp48 #gpio #stm32f100
6 REPLIES 6
infoinfo966
Associate II
Posted on July 22, 2011 at 11:39

What exactly do you want to know?

Do you use the ST Standard Peripheral Libraries?

Best

Tom

jjhopkotcha
Associate II
Posted on July 22, 2011 at 12:27

Yes as far as I am aware I do. There are so many functions containing GPIO such as GPIO_Remap or GPIO_typedef etc. 

I am wondering what sort of line of code would set up, say for example PB0 and PB1 as a logical input enabling my microprocessor to respond to my motor's position. 

Thanks

infoinfo966
Associate II
Posted on July 22, 2011 at 13:19

That's pretty simple:

GPIO_InitTypeDef GPIO_InitStructure;

//IMportant, you always have to enable the Peripheral Clock before you can use a device

For you:

RCC_APB2PeriphClockCmd(RCC_APB2Periph_GPIOB, ENABLE);

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Pin = GPIO_Pin_0 | GPIO_Pin_1 | GPIO_Pin_2;

// now it depends if you want to use the internal PUSH UP/DOWN resistors, if so use

//  GPIO_Mode_IPD = 0x28,