Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fail to make own STM32 board

sragen
Associate II
Posted on August 23, 2011 at 05:28

Dear all,

Sorry, I am a newbie on STM32 microcontroller.

Yesterday I have made my own STM32F103RBT6 board. I use L1117-3.3 as my 3,3 volt regulator. The external components are Crystalls, capacitors for crystall, supply capacitors, reset circuit (using R and C), and resistor pull down for boot 0 and boot 1 pin.

When I apply 5 volt voltage to the regulator, firstly its is OK it only draws current about 4mA. But several second after that the current increase over 200mA. and then I check the VDD and VSS has been short Circuit. And the chip has been damaged.

Thus I remove the chip and measure the VDD-VSS voltage, and it is 3.3volt. I've recheck my PCB, and I can't found any mistakes. 

I've already burn 5 chips last night, and I don not know whats wrong with the circuit.

If the there any suggestions  for my problem will be very appreciated.

Thank for advance.

Best Regard,

Eko Henfri.

#make-own-stm32-board
27 REPLIES 27
infoinfo989
Associate III
Posted on August 23, 2011 at 06:15

Sorry to hear you're letting the magic smoke out - that's no fun. Perhaps if you attach your schematic people can review it for you.

sragen
Associate II
Posted on August 23, 2011 at 07:09

Here it is my Schematic.

Any suggestion will be very helpful.

Best Regards,

eko henfri.

Attachments :

STM32F103RBT6_Schematic.pdf : https://st--c.eu10.content.force.com/sfc/dist/version/download/?oid=00Db0000000YtG6&ids=0680X000006I1FE&d=%2Fa%2F0X0000000bkB%2FxvKD24gTECeuL4ujRTvwc4Hw6U_FzfOZHBTrRpkVZv4&asPdf=false
Posted on August 23, 2011 at 15:41

Add some pin numbers.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
raptorhal2
Lead
Posted on August 23, 2011 at 15:47

Before you follow my last suggestion, try these first if you have not done so: