Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cortex peripheral register access slow?

lc
Associate II
Posted on November 02, 2011 at 12:27

Hello,

I am new to cortex, upgrading a 8051 project to cortex for improved performance. One of the things I'm testing now is SPI. Not via DMA, but simple writing to SPI->DR, wait until byte out and then sending next byte. It works but is very slow. On the oscilloscope I see that writing to the SPI DR takes about 380ns, CPU is F100RB at 24MHZ, prepheral clocks max (I hope). This is very slow, knowing that clocking out the byte itself only takes about 630ns.

Checking if the SPI is not busy and then writing the next byte to SPI DR takes 900ns!!! So far this cortex is much slower than my 8051, very frustrating. Is it not possible to access the peripheral registers in a faster way? I know there are faster techniques (like using DMA), but many projects have a simple function like spi_write(), and in that case it's so slow. This topic is not particular about SPI, but why the peripheral accesss is so slow and if there are trics to make it fast? Cortex being fast, is a hoax so far... hopefully I'm doing something wrong here...

5 REPLIES 5
Posted on November 02, 2011 at 13:46

The rapidity of the SPI output depends on the shift rate, if the writing overhead is too high try 16-bit transfers.

The writes to the APB, as I recall, should be 4 cycles, and will depend on how you have the dividers set up. You should be able to set everything to DIV1 at 24 MHz.

Now, you haven't provided any code, so it's hard to know exactly what/how you're measuring this. I would also anticipate reads/writes to the GPIO's will also take 4 bus cycles.

Also, you don't specific what 8051 we're talking about, the original Intel implementations were pretty slow taking 12 cycles for each machine cycle (ie about 1us)

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
lc
Associate II