Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fast IR camera data tranfer to computer

megahercas6
Senior
Posted on September 20, 2014 at 13:12

Hello,

I am working on projects that takes snapshot from camera, stores it to SRAM via DMA, and when process image by some mathematics, and calculate beam spot on sensor. And sends information to computer, where beam is.this part is simple.

Problems is, from time to time it would be good to send whole picture to computer ( to labview/mathlab) to see how our laser beam profile looks like. picture is exact 1024x1024 @10bits.

Right now i inly use FT2232D in spi mode, that can transfer data at 64b chunks, and whole transfer will take around 1s. since transfer will use processor time,as well as load sram, processor will not be able to do calculations, so ideally i want to transfer image to computer as fast as i can.

Second problem, this must work in labview/mathlab enviroment, and i am not that good with USB programming. Does any one have idea how to send image as fast as possible to computer with as little effort as possible ?

One idea is to use USB HS PHY (on board or external) but programing is a bit too difficult.

processor is STM32F429 running at 180MHz 144pin
4 REPLIES 4
stm322399
Senior
Posted on September 20, 2014 at 13:31

This is somehow similar to my project: taking snapshot from CCD sensor 1280*960*8bit (note that we use SDRAM, not SRAM), then do some math (JPEG compression!) and send outside.

We use LWIP network stack + LWFTP (hosted on github) to send JPEG images to server.

FTP transfer is fast, but a proprietary TCP/UDP might do a better job, if it is possible for you to use Ethernet.

megahercas6
Senior
Posted on September 20, 2014 at 14:35

Just tested how fast FT2232D SPI is, well, in read workd it gives 5,27Mbps, while ftdi states that it can go up to 30Mbps, i have no idea how they can say that, if at maximum spi clock frequency gap between two burst of  1024 chars  is very small.

(100us)