cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Run code in SRAM in ASM

knabbers
Associate II
Posted on January 05, 2012 at 04:46

Hi, I'm quite new to the STM32 and am trying to run code in internal SRAM, but cannot find a lot of information about it.

This is what I have been doing:

1) Copy code block to SRAM (with LDR and STR) starting at 0x2000 0000

2) Branch to 0x2000 0000

The code should have turned on an LED, but it didn't. No interrupts will fire after reset, so I don't know why/if I need to copy the interrupt vector table as well as the code. I'm quite sure that the code block is copying correctly, as I have checked it in debug mode.

I am not using Keil software, so must program it directly in ASM. I would really appreciate some help on this one, as it seems to be the make-or-break thing needed to get my camera working.

Thanks in advance, James

#code-execute-sram
11 REPLIES 11
Posted on January 05, 2012 at 15:29

As it is 16-bit Thumb code, you'll need to jump to an ODD address, ie 0x20000001, otherwise the process will Hard Fault, it cannot run 32-bit ARM code.

It is not clear why you need to run it from RAM, or if you plan to have some code that interrupts, or not. You would generally want the vector table at the front, but it could remain in FLASH, and the stack at the end.

Consider GCC based compilers, there is/was a WinARM package setup for the STM32F1xx

Anyway, the copy/call method should work.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
infoinfo989
Associate III
Posted on January 05, 2012 at 16:48

As Clive said, what you're doing should work. As part of a bootloader we copy code to RAM and execute it from there.

Writing assembler can get old fast. For free GCC-based C compilers take a look at Yagarto or Code Sourcery (Mentor) G++ lite.

knabbers
Associate II
Posted on January 05, 2012 at 19:59