Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running user code from STM32F4's internal RAM

ashwinvijayakumar
Associate
Posted on January 13, 2012 at 13:57

Hi,

I am new to ARM development, I just bought a STM32F4Discovery board and am experimenting with it. I was wondering if there was a way to load and run user code from the internal RAM; it would be very helpful if the experts out there would point me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance

5 REPLIES 5
Posted on January 13, 2012 at 16:40

At one level you can simply copy code there are jump to it (remember PC must be an odd address, ie copy 16-bit words to 0x20004000, call 0x20004001)

You could also define your memory map in the linker script or scatter file, and then direct the compiler to place functions in specific segments/sections with #pragma's etc. In some chains this can be achieved by enumerating specific functions in the segment/section you wish the linker to place them.

On the STM32F4 the best memory to use for this is the 64K of CCM (Closely Coupled Memory) attached to the core.

For debugging in Keil, it is also possible to define the IROM address range within an SRAM, and the IDE will download and run directly from RAM. I believe you could do this with IAR, at least the older ones it was easy to do.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
rmteo
Associate II
Posted on January 13, 2012 at 16:53

With Rowley Crossworks, it is as simple as making a selection from a drop-down menu.

0690X00000602jvQAA.jpg

digital_dreamer
Associate II
Posted on January 15, 2012 at 11:42

teo.rene,

Where do you find this menu? I must be blind! :p

I'm using v2.1.2 on the Mac.

I did a little research into this and see the flash placement and ram placement xml files in packages/targets/STM32 directory. But, isn't Crossworks supposed to access this info automatically?