cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DCMI ov9655 Example help (STM3220g Eval)

re
Associate II
Posted on January 23, 2012 at 21:09

Hi, I'm new to STM32 and also to interfacing with Digital camera modules.

as a First step I went trough the DCMI example that boards with the STM32F2xx Library. although in the example firmware that came with the Eval board the camera seems to work fine, but simply running the DCMI example gives no result to the LCD, even though the code runs with no error.

I am using IAR EWARM to build and deploy the code to the board.

Do I have to make any change in the code to make it work?

Thanks in advance

#stm3220g-eval #smt3220g #dcmi #dcmi
11 REPLIES 11
re
Associate II
Posted on January 24, 2012 at 01:01

I've managed to get some image from the sensor. It seems that it was shipped an OV2640 instead of the stock OV9655. I used the library from STMf4xx that contains the example for OV2640. But now it seems there's some v-sync problem. the image is glitching. 

Edit: I made it stop glitching by putting the right bounding box in the LCD display. But now the image is split. the bottom part of it is in the upper part of the display. The good part is that it doesn't flip anymore, it's perfectly static =)

pobox2day
Associate II
Posted on February 07, 2012 at 02:31

Hi Renato

Have a look in the STM32F4 library DCMI examples where you will find an example that uses either the OV9655 or OV2640, the latter sensor is shipped with the STM3220G Rev B board. You need to make a few changes to the headers but usually it is changes from STM32F4xxxxx to STM32F2xxxxxxx. The compiler will give you errors in any case so just go through each error and fix up the header reference. I managed to get the example working with my development board and now are trying to get higher resolution images starting at VGA (640x480).

Ian 

kamada
Associate II
Posted on February 07, 2012 at 09:08