cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F4, Tips for a beginner?

upgrdman
Associate II
Posted on May 24, 2012 at 08:52

I have lots of experience with the Arduino and the STM32F4 is my first ''real'' step into microcontrollers. I've downloaded all of the PDFs and the firmware from the STM32F4DISCOVERY page. They have been helpful but I'm still lost at how to do some of the basics. Reading the demo code helps but it's not all that clear.

Are there any guides that walk you through the process of something simple and explain why each section of code is needed or beneficial?

Are there any libraries that abstract away some of the dirty work? I don't expect anything as easy as the Arduino library but maybe something half way there?

I'm comfortable with C and don't mind doing things by hand if needed. Are they any tutorial collections / videos / books / magazines that are aimed at bringing a beginner up to speed with this MCU?

Lastly, how does the ARM ecosystem work? Will code for one ARM work on another? Do all ARMs share common qualities? Any good books you can recommend?

Thanks!

-Farrell
5 REPLIES 5
Posted on May 24, 2012 at 10:53

Download the STM32F4 firmware libraries, the regular one and the DSP one. They have example code for peripherals, and source code for the libraries. Start by digesting those.

ARM has plenty of technical reference documentation on their site, ST has material covering their unique peripheral set.

Books, Joseph Yiu has several books on the Cortex-Mx series.

ARM compatibility depends on the exact architecture. The Cortex-Mx parts will not run 32-bit ARM instructions (seen on classic ARM7 and ARM9), but will work with the 16-bit Thumb, Thumb 2, or subset thereof. Thumb code from ARM7 and ARM9 will run on an M3 for example, Thumb 2 code will not run on ARM7/9. Interrupt handling is different.

If ARM10/11 are important go read the TRM, the should run 32-bit code and 16-bit code.