Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting with a STM32F100CBT6B

gmwralhs9
Associate II
Posted on June 05, 2012 at 21:30

Hello,

I am new to ST micros and this is my first attempt to design a board based on a 32-bit microcontroller. I've designed a very simplistic circuit with all of the GPIO ready for use for experimenting with breadboards etc etc with external power supply (not on-board). Since I'll need to order a PCB that will take sometime to arrive to me, I need to feel some confidence that this will work, so I have attached the circuit as a PNG. Can you give a glimpse on it? A yes or no would suffice! Any suggestions would be welcomed too. Thanks 🙂
4 REPLIES 4
raptorhal2
Lead
Posted on June 06, 2012 at 01:32

It looks like you are off to a reasonable start.

A general hint: look at the schematic in the user manual for the Discovery Kit for your processsor. It will provide a reasonable reference for design. It will probably have a 64 or 100 pin layout, but you should be able to easily see what is applicable for your 48 pin configuration. For example, selection of OSC32 and related capacitors.

To reduce noise on ADC channels, VDDA should have an inductor between VDD and VDDA. If ADC noise is not a concern, then what you have will work.

Decide what to do with BOOT1, which I believe is PB2, pin 20.

When you get to the PCB layout, VDD capacitors need to be close to the uP pin. My approach is to mount them PCB bottom side under the uP.

The JTAG pullup resisters might be weak. I have used 10K. TDO should have a pulldown resister.

Cheers, Hal

alok472
Associate II
Posted on June 06, 2012 at 03:03

several schematics are available here

http://www.st.com/internet/evalboard/family/116.jsp

you can also refer to them

gmwralhs9
Associate II
Posted on June 06, 2012 at 10:27

Hi,