Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you use STM32cubeMX

tarzan2
Associate II
Posted on November 19, 2014 at 19:39

Hello,

ST announced that everybody should use the cubeMX software (or at least libraries) because the old libraries will not be supported anymore. I was a noob on STM32 so I decided to start with cubeMX.

It it clear that nobody use it since all examples found on the net (and especially on this forum) use the old libraries. They just do NOT compile on a project generated with cubeMX.

Moreover, I can't understand why a simple program that is just init. some peripherals (SPI/I2C/UART & FATFS/SDIO) do NOT compile with the free version of IAR or keil because of the code size limit (32kB). Without optimization, my program weight 33kB ! for something like init clock/init periph/mount SD card. WOW ! Same job was done with 2kB on low-cost 8 bits UC or 5-6kB on PIC32.

So what should I do ? Peripherals cannot be fully initialized with cubeMX (try to configure ADC+DMA and you will understand...), the ''solution'' is to do it manually but this look like spaghetti - and the ugly IAR/keil interfaces that ST choose don't help...
6 REPLIES 6
Posted on November 19, 2014 at 20:11

No, I like my abstractions thin, the SPL can get me a boot loader with SDIO and FATFS, plus, in under 16KB

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
stm32forum
Associate II
Posted on November 19, 2014 at 21:18

You must set in your compiler to use the Nano library to reduce the code size.

If you looking for a compiler with no sizelimit, take a look at

http://www.emblocks.org/web/

frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on November 20, 2014 at 10:23

If you looking for a compiler with no sizelimit, take a look at

http://www.emblocks.org/web/

And in addition to that, it automatically installs the SPL files for all supported STM32 variants. So porting SPL examples is not really difficult.