Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32_USB-Host-Device_Lib_V2.1.0 Build Problems in TrueStudio

viteshp
Associate II
Posted on July 11, 2012 at 15:12

Good Day

I am new to ARM and Atollic TrueStudio. I decided to get going by downloading and testing an existing demo project which has functionality I require and the understand it and move forward. I have a STM3220G-EVAL board, Atollic TrueStudio 3.1.0. Pro, Windows 7 Pro. I downloaded the STM32_USB-Host-Device_Lib_V2.1.0 and loaded the \STM32_USB-Host-Device_Lib_V2.1.0\Project\USB_Host_Device_Examples\DRD\TrueSTUDIO\STM322xG-EVAL_USBH-HS project.

When I build the the project I get errors in the startup_stm32f2xx.s. The errors is undefined reference to '_ebss', ... '_sbss', ... '_sdata' and ... '_sidata' - see attached. Are these examples suppose to build or do they require modification to build? Any assistance will be appreciated.
4 REPLIES 4
Posted on July 12, 2012 at 21:03

Are these examples suppose to build or do they require modification to build? Any assistance will be appreciated.

Well they build fine under Keil, and pretty easy to port to GNU/GCC. It probably depends on the version of Atollic with which ST created the project.

Looking at the error it's not clear if the C/C++ compiler is being run against an assembler source file, or if it dislikes the linker script / section names. This is certainly an area where Atollic have deviated from the more generic GNU/GCC solution.

Suggest you call your support representative at Atollic and have them work through the problem with you. That's what you're paying for as GCC and Eclipse are free tools. I'm sure they'll point fingers back and forth, but it's not really ST's job to make things work with every version of every IDE. Or frankly that an IDE can't do a half decent job of parsing an XML format project file from some other vendor. Great AWK or PERL scripting task for someone.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo