Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lot of problems with ST applications

Mark81
Associate III
Posted on August 16, 2012 at 10:00

Hello,

first I apologize if my English is not very good. It's not my primary language.

I'm quite new to the STM32 world. I'd like to try some tools provided by ST.

The first two downloaded give a lot of troubles.

1) MicroXplorer.

Once installed, it complains about a dll missing. Why the installer doesn't provide it?

Then it doesn't run due to ''can't start the JVM''. But the JVM is installed (32-bit) and I can run other software based upon it. Any idea?

2) dfUse.

I downloaded the latest version but any tools I run (file manager, demonstration, tester) lead to error 0xc0150002 without any further details. In the readme there is no mention about any requisite.

My machine is AMD64 with Win7.

Any help is very appreciated, it's not a very good meeting with ST....

Thank in advance!

Marco

#dfuse #microxplorer-stm32
9 REPLIES 9
flyer31
Senior
Posted on August 16, 2012 at 13:30

What about trying to buy a ST4Discovery board and then start off ...?

The things you cited sound a bit special for a beginner (I never heard of them and I am not a beginner ...).

frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on August 16, 2012 at 14:15

My machine is AMD64 with Win7.

Is it the 64 bit version ? This may cause some of your trouble.

But neither MicroXplorer nor dfUse are the tool you would need immediately, or necessarily come in contact with. I have been messing with STM32 for almost 2 years, and never used any of this.

If you really want to use some STM32 evaluation board, you better think about the toolchain you want to use for development. With that you will have to deal much more frequently.

Posted on August 16, 2012 at 18:17

Most software is going to assume a US/English 32-bit Windows XP, stray outside the reservation and you're going to be fighting whatever myriad of conditions and systems there are.