cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

usb CDC control interface (can this be removed)

russdx
Associate II
Posted on September 30, 2012 at 20:37

I have the CDC example running great 🙂

It pops up as 2 separate usb interfaces on my pc (0 and 1)

I have noticed to send and receive data over the usb i only need the second interface. the first *control* interface seams to be unused (i can uninstall it from my device manager and i can still send and receive data fine)

my question is can i remove this control/command interface 0  from the stm code so when i plug my board into my pc only the second interface 1 pops up. as this is the only one i need.

Im very new to the usb protocol so be kind if i have missed some thing obvious 🙂
22 REPLIES 22
tsuneo
Senior
Posted on October 01, 2012 at 05:09

> It pops up as 2 separate usb interfaces on my pc (0 and 1)

??? I checked the source code of STM32_USB-FS-Device_Lib_V3.4.0 and STM32_USB-Host-Device_Lib_V2.1.0. Surely, the VCP projects on these libraries apply standard two-interface CDC. But I believe they don't pop up ''2 separate usb interfaces'' on Windows device manager. > my question is can i remove this control/command interface 0 from the stm code Windows and Linux accept this single-interface CDC (MacOSX doesn't). But I don't recommend it, because it is out of USB spec, and the support on OS may drop in future OS release.

===>Interface Descriptor<===
bLength: 0x09
bDescriptorType: 0x04
bInterfaceNumber: 0x01
bAlternateSetting: 0x00
bNumEndpoints: 0x03
bInterfaceClass: 0x02 -> This is Communications (CDC Control) USB Device Interface Class
bInterfaceSubClass: 0x02
bInterfaceProtocol: 0x01
CAUTION: This may be an invalid bInterfaceProtocol
iInterface: 0x00
-> This is a Communications (CDC Control) USB Device Interface Class
===>Descriptor Hex Dump<===
bLength: 0x05
bDescriptorType: 0x24
05 24 00 10 01 
bLength: 0x04
04 24 02 02 
05 24 06 01 01 
05 24 01 00 01 
===>Endpoint Descriptor<===