cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remapping USART3 to SPI3 @STM32F107 not possible?

dbeken
Associate II
Posted on August 22, 2012 at 20:57

Hello everyone,

I am working with the STM32F107 chip on the STM32F107VC board from IAR.

The evaualtion board has an LCD which has as its inputs SPI3_MOSI and SPI3_SKC. But since it needs to have 9 bit inputs, i can communicate with the LCD either by manually

bit-banging or USART (which has a 9 bit output option).

But according to the datasheet, i can only remap USART3_SCK to SPI3_MOSI and USART3_TX to SPI3_SCK.

First of all, i can not understand, what the purpose of the above remap option can be. Is there a way, I can remap the TX of any USART to the SPI3_MOSI pin (and the Clock signals respectively)?

I hope to get an answer. If USART to SPI is not possible with STM32F107, I will do bit banging, not to loose any more time.

I am very new at embedded programming and this is my first post. I am sorry if i did not follow any rules or forgot gave any necessary information.

Thanks in advance. 

#spi-usart-stm32f107
6 REPLIES 6
Posted on August 22, 2012 at 21:35

Your remapping choices are limited, you appear to have identified them correctly.

Seems odd IAR would have connected an LCD in a manner you couldn't communicate with it, have you looked over their demo code, or inquired further with them?

Not sure 9-bit synchronous USART is an ideal replacement for SPI

Can you not send 9x 8-bit bytes in place of 8x 9-bit values?

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
dbeken
Associate II
Posted on August 22, 2012 at 22:50

Hi Clive,

first of all, thank you for your quick response, as always.

To honestly answer your question about 9x8bits instead of 8x9 bits: I don't know.