Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for an MCU reference

neoirto
Associate II
Posted on July 23, 2013 at 10:24

Hi all,

I had good experiences on STM32F4 peripherals, but I'm new to ST 8 bits family, so I'd like your feedback and help to match a good MCU at lower cost possible, and that could match that features :

- 3.3V operations

- USB data transfer at High or moderate speed (cost first), with a mass storage declaration (new to that too), and with firmware flashing capability by USB : is there any library/example I can start with for that purpose ?

- 2 peripherals on SPI with DMA : 1x for a peripheral read operation (20 MHz capable), and one for �SD r/w : write at continuous minimum 112 Kb/s with reliability, but 896 Kb/s capable would be perfect. I planned to do it with Fats fs library. Perhaps I will need 2 DMA for that ?

That point is critical because of the RAM usage... I just don't know if it's possible on an 8 bits MCU... In fact I just need to read datas on SPI, save it somewhere (with 2Gb  max)... And in another mode, transfer that datas to PC via USB.

- 1x i2c at 400 kHz (interrupt mode or DMA+int).

- Standby mode with low power (ultra low prefered but not critical).

- 1x 16 bits Timer, a few EXTIO...

- a few eeprom...

What do you think about this requirements ? Is it possible with 8 bits family ?

Thanks in advance for your answers

#usb-sd-spi-dma
4 REPLIES 4
fggnrc2
Associate II
Posted on July 23, 2013 at 15:55

Hello stephane!

The answer to your question is NO, because there is no STM8 microcontroller that natively supports USB.

If you give up to USB links, there may be a part that suits your needs.

Regards

EtaPhi

neoirto
Associate II
Posted on July 23, 2013 at 16:58

Thanks for your answer EtaPhi,

Well, I will need USB, so I have to take a look at STM32... I'm afraid of.

But I'm curious to see the cost gap between High end STM8 and Low prices STM32... Could you please give us the reference ?

Tx again 😉