cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LCD on STM32F4 Discovery

fullcaos
Associate II
Posted on October 10, 2012 at 15:23

Hi, I recently started programming microcontrollers STM32F4, I tried an example to control an LCD screen, there are on the net? can you give me directions?

#lcd-stm32f4discovery #stm32f4-hd44780 #interface-anything-to-anything
20 REPLIES 20
Posted on October 10, 2012 at 15:41

LCD covers a pretty broad range of displays, care to be more specific?

There are breakout boards for the STM32F4-Discovery that add 320x240 colour panels, ST has a number of EVAL series boards with screens.

A lot of boards have 16 x 2 text screens, Olimex has several, and Keil and IAR have demo code for such screens.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
fullcaos
Associate II
abebarker
Associate II
Posted on October 24, 2012 at 20:59

I have just finished a driver for the popular HD44780. I wrote it specifically for the STM32F4 Discovery board.

I look at the datasheet of your LCD and it is compatible with the HD44780.

You can find the drivers for the LCD at:

https://plus.google.com/u/0/107064446910059011232/posts/j1p2woAR6Lr

or download at:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/51926927/STM32F4 LCD 44780 Driver source.zip

fullcaos
Associate II
Posted on October 25, 2012 at 20:53

thanks

I

really need to use

the LCD and

I'm still not

able to write

my

driver

Posted on October 26, 2012 at 00:47

thanks

I

really need to use

the LCD and

I'm still not

able to write

my

driver

You might want to be more specific about you have this wired up, ie what pins are wired to what signal on the LCD.

Consider how you have to configure the GPIO pins on the STM32F4.

Review the code provided earlier, and for other 16x2 panels, see how data is applied, and how control and address pins are set and strobed. Review the manual for your panel.