Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read out Start-Up RAM values

an
Associate II
Posted on October 12, 2012 at 11:28

Hey there,

I am pretty new to micrcontrollers and such. I recently bought a STM32VL Discovery, which I am programming with CoCoox IDE.

My goal is to read out the start-up values of internal RAM. By start-up values I mean the values of RAM cells just after the power-up of the device when no other application interferred with the ram.

Is this possible somehow? Could you guys guide me to some literature or give me some hints?

Thanks in advance!

#describe-the-goal-not-the-step
27 REPLIES 27
Posted on October 12, 2012 at 13:18

Why?

printf(''%08X\n'', *((unsigned long *)0x20002000) );

Read it like any other arbitrary memory location, with pointers.

You could read memory using assembler in Reset_Handler()
Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Andrew Neil
Chief II
Posted on October 12, 2012 at 15:46

''Is this possible somehow?''

Sure, it is possible - but what is the point?

As clive1 said, why would you want to do this?

If it's just a matter of curiosity, why not just use your debugger to inspect the memory...?

http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#goal

an
Associate II
Posted on November 13, 2012 at 16:38

Hey Guys,

sorry for not responding for such a long time.

Well my task is to read out the unitialized values of SRAM to measure the degree of entropy of these uninitialized data. It might sound a little bit pointless but thats what I am supposed to do.

Right now I am developing on windows using CoCoox IDE. I set a breakpoint right at the beginning of

void Default_Reset_Handler(void)

in file

startup_stm32f10x_md_vl.c