cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ST-Link Connection error�

amedm
Associate II
Posted on November 07, 2012 at 15:20

I'm a student of University of Catania and I'm using IAR Embedded Workbench for ARM, v. 6.21, 32K Kickstart Edition on WIndows 7, for an university project to program a STM32F100XB board (using SWD Interface)

It worked all but a day, trying to flash a program it gave me the following errors:

- Fatal error: ST-Link Connection error Session aborted!

- Failed to load flash loader: C:\Program Files (x86)\IAR Systems\Embedded Workbench 6.0 Kickstart\arm\config\flashloader\ST\FlashSTM32F10xxxRAM6K.out

- Failed to load flash loader: C:\Program Files (x86)\IAR Systems\Embedded Workbench 6.0 Kickstart\arm\config\flashloader\ST\FlashSTM32F100xB.flash

Can you help me undestanding why and fixing it?

Thank you,

Best Regards

Amedeo Merlo

Edit: Stm32vl discovery board

#stm32f100 #stm32-st-link-swd
10 REPLIES 10
Posted on November 07, 2012 at 15:26

Wrong driver, board not powered?

Does it work with more professional JTAG/SWD pods?

What board, exactly? A Google of the name just brings up the Part# of the chip, which isn't much help.

If the board is running broken code the ST-LINK might not be able to wrestle control. Power the board up with BOOT0 High so it executes the System Loader.
Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
amedm
Associate II
Posted on November 07, 2012 at 15:34

It worked well with my code before yesterday. The board is stm32vl discovery. i'm a starter with mcu board, I did the tutorial to configure IAR, the example and then flashed my code and it worked. After a modify it didn't work anymore. Maybe it's a stupid question but which is the boot 0?

Thank for the fast answer 🙂

Posted on November 07, 2012 at 16:39

BOOT0 is a pin on the chip in question.