Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F3DISCOVERY USB-Virtual Com Port?

bobot
Associate II
Posted on November 18, 2012 at 14:16

Hi!

May I ask for help about setting up VCP with one?

I am currently looking over the files of STM32_USB-FS-Device_Lib_V3.4.0 (under virtual com port). I can't seem to understand how to tailor it with STM32F3Discovery. Or is it even possible to use it with STM32F3? Can anyone help me understand how to use the library with other USB capable STM32's? I am using IAR starter.

I am very new to STM32 MCUs. Just opened my STM32F3Discovery this week. I choose this board because of its included sensors. The objective simply to forward the readings of the sensor to a host PC. The data gathered will be used for academic purposes. So, for now, I wanted to connect it first with my PC through VCP.

Than you very much.

18 REPLIES 18
Posted on November 18, 2012 at 15:52

I'd probably start with the OTG library, and merge in the F3 firmware library.

http://www.st.com/internet/com/SOFTWARE_RESOURCES/SW_COMPONENT/FIRMWARE/stm32_f105-07_f2_f4_usb-host-device_lib.zip

And see if that works. Can't help you with IAR, could probably built a GNU or Keil project.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
bobot
Associate II
Posted on November 19, 2012 at 04:03

@clive1

Thank you sir... I have also looked into that library but I can't still figure out which of those source files are to be modified for stm32f3 (stm32F303). But I'll dig deeper...

Kiel, would be fine for me... I just downloaded and installed one. I seems I like their IDE more. And since I am very new to this, I can basically pick and shift another IDE and/or toolchain.

If it is not much to ask, can you make a sample project for me...?

Thank you very much once again.
Posted on November 19, 2012 at 16:29