Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

change wave frequency with pot ..how?

sts0340
Associate II
Posted on November 22, 2012 at 20:43

Hi. I hope someone can help me here...

I have been looking at the STM32f4 dac signal generation code. I would like to know how I could change the frequency of the output waveform with a potentiometer or, using the ADC, any other simple sensor ( LDR perhaps..)

I was wondering if it is possible to change TIM.Period via the ADC...

I am a beginner but if anyone can point me in the right direction that would be nice...?..

I am using the STM32f4 discovery and the DACsignals generation code from the peripherals library.

I am on a windows machine...

Thankyou,

STeve.

4 REPLIES 4
Andrew Neil
Chief III
Posted on November 22, 2012 at 22:42

''I have been looking at the STM32f4 dac signal generation code''

First, you need to look at how it currently sets its frequency;

Then you can think about how to adjust that setting based on the current ADC reading...

Posted on November 23, 2012 at 01:33

You could use the ADC's EOC interrupt, reading the converted value, and then translate and write the new period into the TIMx->ARR register.

Clever factoring of prescale and period might permit other, and perhaps simpler, alternatives.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Nickname12657_O
Associate III
Posted on November 23, 2012 at 16:35

Hi,

This is a method to change generated waveform frequency based on potentiometer value:

The idea to generate a wave throw DAC is to use a timer to trig transfers of an input signal to DAC. So the wave frequency is the one of the used timer. Generally, we need to know the prescaler & period to configure the timer.

So here, we have to calculate the prescaler & period based on the value read from potentiometer and converted by an ADC to know the new frequency.

Each time there is a new frequency value: