Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F3 Discovery next steps?

don23
Associate II
Posted on December 13, 2012 at 04:35

Hi,

I successfully setup IAR 6.5 and got the F3 Discovery Bd. demo working along with modifying the code to change the LED timing. I read through UM5170 User Manual. I'm looking for more examples to learn about the peripherals. So, I downloaded the AN4157 firmware examples. This includes brief descriptions of each peripheral but not the tutorials to work them.

I also found examples with, ''This example has been tested with STMicroelectronics STM32303C-EVAL (STM32F30x)  evaluation board and can be easily tailored to any other supported device and development board.'' However, it doesn't explain How to do this.

Since I'm new to ARM and 32F3, I would appreciate what next steps to learn this platform.

Thanks!

#stm32f3-iar #adc #discovery-board #:-discovery-board-stm32f3
53 REPLIES 53
raptorhal2
Lead
Posted on December 13, 2012 at 14:43

However, it doesn't explain How to do this.

Probably because their are an infinite number of other board and device combinations. You will have to read the literature for whatever board and device contemplated and determine how to tailor. Some common differences to recognize:

HSE frequency. Check the startup files and ensure HSE and clock scaling factors are correct. If not correct, USART frequencies will be mysteriously wrong.

ADC configuration. The F3 has 4 ADCs with 39 external channels. Other F series devices have fewer of both.

Discovery and development boards have some pins dedicated to on board connections, and all different from one part number to another.

This is not a complete list. Come back to this forum for anything that really puzzles you.

Cheers, Hal

don23
Associate II
Posted on December 13, 2012 at 19:52