Did you mean: 

BASIC USART

xtian
Associate II
Posted on January 17, 2013 at 09:41

Hi Guys,

I am 1 week old to STM32 Platforms and I am using stm32VL and stm32f4Discovery,

and it is my first time to program microcontroller in C platform

I am having a hardtime understanding the sample i found in web for USART hmm I dont know how to make them work.

I understand all the arrays and logics what i dont understand is the process.. If anyone could give me a crash course where would i put the init or usart... etc.. if you could perform a relation so I could understand it better. I found many eamples but I was not able to run sucessfully even one sample.

I tried this by clive

https://my.st.com/public/STe2ecommunities/mcu/Lists/STM32Discovery/Flat.aspx?RootFolder=https%3a%2f%2fmy.st.com%2fpublic%2fSTe2ecommunities%2fmcu%2fLists%2fSTM32Discovery%2fSTM32F100%20UART%20problem&FolderCTID=0x01200200770978C69A1141439FE559EB459D75800084C20D8867EAD444A5987D47BE638E0F&currentviews...

but I got this error

Building configuration: basicIO - Debug

Updating build tree...

Linking

Error[Li005]: no definition for ''USART_Init'' [referenced from C:\Users\KDREY.PH\Desktop\

cimba research\trials\BASICIO\Debug\Obj\basicIO.o]

Error[Li005]: no definition for ''USART_Cmd'' [referenced from C:\Users\KDREY.PH\

Desktop\cimba research\trials\BASICIO\Debug\Obj\basicIO.o]

Error[Li005]: no definition for ''USART_ITConfig'' [referenced from C:\Users\KDREY.PH\

Desktop\cimba research\trials\BASICIO\Debug\Obj\basicIO.o]

Error while running Linker

Total number of errors: 3

Total number of warnings: 0

7 REPLIES 7
Posted on January 17, 2013 at 13:45

Yeah, you'll need to work with your include files so it pulls in the ones from the libraries it needs, and that the project has the library source files in it.

You should perhaps review some of the project templates, and examples from the firmware library. Build those and understand the basic construction method for projects.