cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Spurious EXTIO ISR (I cant Understand Why)

bluewaters213
Associate III
Posted on February 10, 2013 at 14:07

Hello,

I am relatively New to ARM Cortex Microcontroller but with experience in Microchip 8Bit to 32bits Microcontrollers. I am having a serous issue with configuring the external Interrupt of STM32F103RB. I want to Toggle two LED connected to PB8-PB9  in EXTI0 ISR [PA0]. I connect PA0 to TIM1 PWM CH4 PA11 (20KHz) Pin to trigger the External Interrupt on the Falling Edge of PA0.

After going through RM0008 Reference manual (Page 200 hardware interrupt selection), it has just 3 lines  explaining how to configure EXT Interrupt.I thought It will be easy but how wrong I was.Probing with Logic Analyzer, I noticed that the LED Toggle 435KHz in the EXTI0 ISR instead of the 20KHz that is triggering it.

I disconnect the wire that is connecting PA0 and PWM CH4 PA11 and view  the PWM and 2 LED in Logic Analyzer. The LED are in active High, the default state I set in my code (Please see attached Logic Analyzer Screen shot '' No_Interrupt.jpg'').I connect it back and the LED are toggling at 435KHz instead of the 20KHz (please see attached Logic Analyzer Screen shot '' Interrupt_Connected.jpg).I do not want to use ST Peripherals library.

I have read the Datasheet so many times, perform all voodoo dance known to me but I still can't get it to work. I have the feeling I did not configure the Interrupt properly. I just can't figure out the missing piece.

Please I need help.

----Code---

#include ''stm32f10x.h''

void PWM_init(void);

void Init_System(void);

void Init_ExtIO(void);

int main(void)

{

Init_System();              //Initialize GPIOA-D & Peripherals

PWM_init();                 //Initialize 20KHz PWM on CH 1-3

Init_ExtIO();

while(1)

{

}

}

void Init_System()

{

RCC-> CFGR |= RCC_CFGR_ADCPRE_DIV4;     //ADC divided by 4