cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CubeMX integration with BSP drivers

Posted on January 19, 2017 at 19:52

I have been using the CubexMX for a few years and have no problems with programming nucleo and discovery boards.

I am using Keil IDE.

I recently bough the

http://www.st.com/en/ecosystems/x-nucleo-iks01a1.html

and have some problems with integration it with nucleo-F411.

===

Starting with the library description and trying to understand all the dependencies seems to be daunting task.

I tried it but I found it difficult to solve library dependencies issues. I am not talking about what function to call - it's rather inter library dependencies issues.

===

Opening already existing example project for F401 and replacing the MCU with F411  gives so many compilation errors so I rejected the idea for now.

===

I wonder if someone have some experience how to quickly integrate the CubeMX-generated program skeleton with BSP drivers. The goal is to have compilation/linking error free application skeleton.

The Getting started document for x-nucleo boards is focused on general ideas of the HAL and BSP layers.

I am looking for more practical approach of integrating BSP with Cubex.

Thanks for any suggestion,

Bogdan

#bsp #cube-mx
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Posted on February 01, 2017 at 23:44

Hi Sirma / Eric,

I tried again and I think I found the final solution:

I. Follow your procedure but point 1) shall be changed to:

Create a project with CubeMX and enable I2C1 because the BSP drivers will use it

This way you will eliminate all I2C related error

II. Include the following files in your main.c

#include 'x_nucleo_iks01a1.h'

#include 'x_nucleo_iks01a1_temperature.h'

#include <string.h>

#include <math.h>

Note :string.h and math.h are required because I reused an example function.

III. Add the pointers required by MEM APIe.g. for temperature sensor:

static void *HTS221_T_0_handle  = NULL;