cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F103 and I2C issue - No ACK from slave

gianlucasuzzi
Associate II
Posted on February 22, 2013 at 14:56

Hi everyone, first of all i've to tell you that i'm new with I2C bus.

I'm using I2C1 on STM32F103 ARM to communicate with an I2C eeprom (24LC256). I can see both SCL and SDA on my scope but it seems there is a problem with the ACK at the ninth clock. I've made the same test with a lux sensor MAX44009 and i can't be able to see any ACK at all. The testing function i use is:

void
STM32_I2C_test(
void
)
{
uint8_t I2C_address;
uint32_t I2C_speed;
GPIO_InitTypeDef GPIO_InitStructure;
I2C_InitTypeDef I2C_InitStructure;
I2C_address = 0xA0; 
//
//address = 0x94; //
I2C_speed = 1000; 
// 1000Hz
/*enable I2C*/
I2C_Cmd(I2C1,ENABLE);
/* I2C1 clock enable */
RCC_APB1PeriphClockCmd(RCC_APB1Periph_I2C1, ENABLE);
RCC_APB2PeriphClockCmd(RCC_APB2Periph_GPIOB, ENABLE);
/* I2C1 SDA and SCL configuration */
GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Pin = GPIO_Pin_6 | GPIO_Pin_7;
GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Speed = GPIO_Speed_50MHz;
GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Mode = GPIO_Mode_AF_OD;
GPIO_Init(GPIOB, &GPIO_InitStructure);
//SCL is pin06 and SDA is pin 07 for I2C1
/* I2C1 configuration */
I2C_InitStructure.I2C_Mode = I2C_Mode_SMBusHost;
I2C_InitStructure.I2C_DutyCycle = I2C_DutyCycle_2;
I2C_InitStructure.I2C_OwnAddress1 = 0x00;
I2C_InitStructure.I2C_Ack = I2C_Ack_Enable;
I2C_InitStructure.I2C_AcknowledgedAddress = I2C_AcknowledgedAddress_7bit;
I2C_InitStructure.I2C_ClockSpeed = I2C_speed ;
I2C_Init(I2C1, &I2C_InitStructure);
//
/* check start bit flag */
while
(I2C_GetFlagStatus(I2C1, I2C_FLAG_BUSY));
/* initiate start sequence */
I2C_GenerateSTART(I2C1,ENABLE);
while
(!I2C_GetFlagStatus(I2C1, I2C_FLAG_SB));
/*send write command to chip*/
I2C_SendData(I2C1,I2C_address);
//I2C_Send7bitAddress(I2C1, address, I2C_Direction_Transmitter);
/*check master is now in Tx mode*/
while
(!I2C_CheckEvent(I2C1, I2C_EVENT_MASTER_TRANSMITTER_MODE_SELECTED));