cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F103C6 HardFault after erase flash with IWDG active

xbalmes
Associate II
Posted on February 26, 2013 at 17:41

Hi, I'm new to Cortex M3. I've a custom boot working correctly: first I erase the 32K flash and after I write the memory with no problems.

I need to activate the Independent Watchdog, and when I do it the microcontroller ends jumping to the HardFault interrupt. The erase process ends correcly. The first watchdog reload counter after it causes the microcontroller to get in Hardfault interrupt (IWDG_ReloadCounter();)

The watchdog reset time is set to the maximum (26 sec).

Does anybody know what could be happening?

Thanks in advance.

#flash-iwdg-wwdg #watchdog-flash-iwdg
4 REPLIES 4
Posted on February 26, 2013 at 19:07

You should make sure the vector table is where it should be (ie you and processor (SCB->VTOR) agree), it hasn't been erased, and functions pointed too exist in non-erased memory.

If this is in fact a Hard Fault you should examine the processor state, and stacked context, and understand where the processor faulted, and attempt to diagnose why. A better routine will output this for you rather than sit in an infinite loop.

Depending on the tool chain if you aren't handling an interrupt properly it will dump into a common area with a while(1); Make sure that your naming/linkage of other interrupts goes where you expect, and you know what interrupts are enabled when doing the erase.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
xbalmes
Associate II
Posted on February 27, 2013 at 08:53

Hi clive,

thanks for your fast answer. Vector table should be right, as the boot starts fine, and after a programming the application starts correctly. I'll give it another look.

I'll try to examine the processor state and stacked context in order to diagnose the reason

Regards

jpeacock2399
Associate II