Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Custom Bootloader on STM32F0

damian2
Associate
Posted on October 09, 2016 at 14:21

Hi

I am trying to write a custom bootloader for the STM32F030XX to upload a firmware through a wirless module (NRF24L01). I already wrote some code handling the upload but I am stuck at how to manage bootloader and user code startup. 

I am no expert in this so please excuse any wrong assumptions.

What I want to do is decide which program to run bootloader or user code at the reset handler entry point. 

What I already did at an earlier project is to have the reset hanlder start the bootloader stored in ROM if a magic key is set in RAM. I would like to do something similar. After the bootloader successfully writes the user code into flash I just want to invalidate the magic Key and reboot into the normal user program.

I imagine running the bootloader is like having two different programs in the flash memory at different starting locations and just needing to decide which one to run. So far I do understand what I am doing but now I think I need to modify the linker script to privide the addresses of these entry points.

The default linker script provides the flash address called

'_sidata = __etext;' (I am using Coocox)

which is referenced in the assembler startup code.

How can I modify the linker script (as well as the startup code) so the code can load both programs (user code and bootloader)? Should I just use hardcoded addresses? What would the startup code look like?

Or is there a better way to do this? I did not find any good example of this. 

#bootloader #stm32f0 #startup-cod
3 REPLIES 3
Posted on October 09, 2016 at 15:52

I did not find any good example of this.

ST has a number of IAP examples for the loader/app configuration on the F0.

I know I've covered it a bunch of times here on the forum.