Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low power USB host solution

houtouridis
Associate
Posted on March 30, 2013 at 12:43

Hi all,

I'm using STM32F100 processors for a while now and i had no issue so far.

I'm looking for a solution that provides USB host functionality to a Flash disk but it must  be powered by battery, so it must by energy efficient. I'm new to USB(first project) so correct me if I am ''from out of space'' here.

Now. The data transfer will be very very small and I plan to keep USB disabled for most of the time. Only 5-6 writes and reads per day. And the file-sizes will be 2-3 Kb. I found stm32L151-2 cpu and it is pretty good actually. It fits all my other requirements, but I believe it provides only USB device functionality, no USB host. Is there any way to run a usb host library (even if it is from a 3rd party) in that cpu?

If not what is the most energy efficient ST Cortex-m3 cpu for usb host? The usb speed is not important.

I wander if it is possible to use an external USB host controller with the libraries provided by ST or its partners. And how easy is that?

I use my own OS(preemptive multitasking kernel for Cortex-M3/M4) and my Fat32 library and I had no issue with that so far. I dont know if it is problem now.

Regards,

Christos Houtouridis

#low-power #usb #host
3 REPLIES 3
Posted on March 30, 2013 at 13:54

While you're walking around, consider if removable storage like an SD Card might be a more appropriate solution.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
houtouridis
Associate
Posted on March 30, 2013 at 15:57

Posted on March 30, 2013 at 16:58

And second, I believe SD consume even more power than usb. A SD consumption is around 80-100mA@25Mhz, 170-200mA@50Mhz while a typical USB drive consumes only 70-90mA when a file is transfered and around 40mA idle.