Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

eclipse+gcc+openocd+FreeRTOS

dorraguitariste
Associate II
Posted on April 18, 2013 at 13:38

Hello,

Am using eclipse+gcc+openocd+FreeRTOS to setup an open Development Environment  for complex STM32 based embedded application.  I'm very new to building with GCC in general and I have never used FreeRTOS, but I'd like to try getting the OS up.I haven't found a lot of documentation about configuring eclipse when using FreeRTOS projects and i ve already downloaded FreeRTOSV7.4.0. so hopefully someone here can shed some light! Any resources would be most helpful. Like I said, I'm very new to this kind of development.

#know-your-tools
12 REPLIES 12
Posted on April 18, 2013 at 14:44

Sounds like a winning formula.

Suggest you hire some additional project staff to assist/train you, and start reading a lot of books.
Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
crt2
Associate II
Posted on April 18, 2013 at 16:20

I'd expect to hear some question or something since it seems installation and everything else runs fine using your configuration?

frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on April 18, 2013 at 17:21

I fully agree with clive1, only I would call it a recipe for disaster.

My suggestion is to try with free version of Atollic TrueStudio first.

It is both gcc and Eclipse, and will allow for an easy entry. There are lots of example projects from ST for this toolchain, to start with.

This might easy migration to your free toolchain, once you got it running. Realistically, expect days or weeks for that ...

dorraguitariste
Associate II
Posted on April 18, 2013 at 17:30

Sorry for not mentionning it, but i ve already did that and that is true it took me weeks ,  but now i want to move to FreeRTOS but i don't know if i have to do the same configurations or there is something special  for  RTOS

frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on April 18, 2013 at 17:55