Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to revive a dead MCU in-circuit?

Mark Williamson
Associate II
Posted on December 18, 2016 at 15:11

Hello all!  How's this for my very first question

I purchased a 3d Printer on clearance with a tag that says Does not Start up.  No warranty.  I was ok with that.  As I'm a developer and a hardware hacker I knew I was buying a project not a printer.  I have experience with Atmel, wrote my own firmware for a Cricut cutting machine, so I'm comfortable here.

The situation I believe is that the store had upgraded the firmware on this machine but used the wrong firmware.  There is much discussion about this situation on the internet from this particular brand of printers. Overall, the quality of the printer is great.  So now the problem.

The images show that the MCU is an STM32F407ZTG6.  I can see clearly that it has SWD header yay.  So I connected the STLink board from my Nucleo to it, removing the jumpers so that I can use it to program an external device, connected the 3.3v power pad on the 3D Printer's board to the 3v3 header on the Nucleo, and I can tell the board has power.  However, STLink does not see the target.  Anyone have some ideas to help revive this guy?

20 REPLIES 20
Jaroslav BECKA
ST Employee
Posted on December 19, 2016 at 11:36

Hello Mark,

the best way to verify the connection is to use the ST-Link Utility tool.

If the target is not visible it could mean that the microcontroller is in low-power mode or the PA13 and PA14 pins were

reconfigured from their default configuration (alternate function - SWD debug pins).

Try to enable the 'connect under reset' option either in the ST-Link Utility or in your IDE.

This usually helps to solve such issues.

Lead
Posted on December 19, 2016 at 11:49

For a device like this (the printer, I mean) I would expect most/all debugging obstacles to be enabled. In this case, the ROP feature (readout protection, including JTAG disable).