cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why my ADC value alternates when signal is steady?

Henrik Sandaker Palm
Associate II
Posted on December 29, 2016 at 15:53

Hi,

I'm quite new to STM32 and Cube HAL. Hardware is custom, mcu is STM32F042G6Ux, created initial code with Cube MX. IDE is 

SW4STM32.

The issue is that the ADC value is alternating somewhat between two values (roughly 300-something mostly and sometimes 1700-something). I see it while debugging, I do one iteration of the main while-loop and watch the ADC value

adc_val

returned from HAL_ADC_GetValue function. The voltage is around 450mV. The reading of the internal temperature via ADC is stable and fine.

Here is the code (how to embed code properly?): 

http://pastebin.com/rvLLcXsk

13 REPLIES 13
Lynn Linse
Associate III
Posted on December 29, 2016 at 18:10

What are you reading? Make sure the source isn't changing due to some physical property.

A simple example, if it is a 'light' sensor, the flicker in florescent office lights causes the signal to fluctuate widely, as sometimes you're measuring the space when the bulb is 'off' (but human eye's don't notice) and sometimes it's on.

Seb
ST Employee
Posted on December 29, 2016 at 18:25

Best would be to start a code from one cube example (for nucleo or discovery board).

Otherwise, if you'd like to test the ADC, don't connect anything to the pin, make sure it is configured for analog function.

Read ADC value. Then manually (debugger breakpoint) turn on the pull-up resistor on the pin, and run a while the code to read the new ADC value, rinse and repeat with a pull-down resistor. If the values are not making sense, reduce the ADC to 8 bit mode, maximize the conversion time to make sure the ADC reference clock is within valid range (it depends on the core frequency).

Good luck!

Henrik Sandaker Palm
Associate II
Posted on December 30, 2016 at 22:21

Hi Lynn and Seb,

Thanks for answering!