cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large compiled application size, is this normal?

Scott Dev
Senior
Posted on February 18, 2017 at 08:47

Hi

I am just a beginner in the STM32, I have been designing for 8bit Freescale parts for years. I am using ST's Nuleo64 STM32L07 processor.

Using STM32CubeMX I designed a very simple application that simply captures the system timer, GPIO interupt for the push button. I simply wrote some code (just for me getting used to the system) using Keil V5. I simply use the system timer interupt to blink the LED, pressing the button changes the speed of the LED . Within Cubemx I also selected RTC,LPUART but done nothing with the code yet. After building the application and ran it I noticed that the size of the code is 6420, and ram 1176. To me this seams a lot for what it does, I am used of having more tighter code. The application uses HAL library, does this put a large overhead to the size of code and ram used? And am I better stripping out some of the code that CubeMX creates?

Thanks

Scott

21 REPLIES 21
Posted on February 18, 2017 at 14:02

One potential issue is the USART code might be pulling in the floating point math library.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Posted on February 18, 2017 at 17:30

Why would the floating point library be pulled in for the USART? All it does is transmit and receives bytes of data , no floating point calculations being caried out.

Scott

Posted on February 18, 2017 at 18:18

Clive already reported this part in December. It is a piece of code used to calculate the bitrate fractional divider from SYSCLK. Want to confirm it? Generate the MAP file from the linker project option and check if a float ansi lib has been pulled in the memory space. Easy check.

Lead
Posted on February 18, 2017 at 19:23