cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to setup SW4STM32 to use Rlink

John Osen
Associate II
Posted on February 09, 2017 at 23:19

I am new to both SW4STM32 and the emulator Rlink.  Rlink works with Ride7; however, there are some .ld tricks I cannot get to in Ride7.

How do you setup Rlink to work with SW4STM32?

Alternatively, how do you get the gdb to work with SW4STM32 + STM3210C-EVAL?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
John Osen
Associate II
Posted on March 23, 2017 at 13:39

I did get st-link and Rlink working.  When the sales rep gave me an st-link, I was running in minutes.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Posted on February 10, 2017 at 05:45

Or you could just get an ST-LINK, or cheap clone, rather than fight with the RLink and the availability of driver/support beyond Raisonance. Perhaps look at OpenOCD? Pretty sure there isn't any magic in the .LD linker scripts related to the RLink.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Posted on February 10, 2017 at 15:10

Thanks for the reply.

(An off topic question for Clive One - your profile says 'Sr Engineer'.  Do you work for STM or are you a third party engineer graciously answering forum questions?  I guess the real question is: Is this forum monitored by STM engineers?)

I am surprised a SW4STM32 example from STM for the STM3210C-EVAL from STM does not work out of the box.  Basically the example I am using is the blinky example: GPIO/GPIO_IOToggle.

If I do get a ST-LINK ($25, no big deal), how do I get ST-LINK to work?  SW4STM32 looks like it only handles gdb, which I have little experience with and what experience I have had is not good.

Is this the correct forum for these questions, or should I be asking them on the OpenSTM32 forum?

Posted on February 10, 2017 at 15:42

As my profile indicates, I don't work for ST.