cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has anyone created a USB MSC + HID driver for STM32F746 Discovery board?

anonymous.8
Senior II
Posted on May 06, 2017 at 00:47

Has anyone created a USB MSC + HID driver for STM32F746 Discovery board?

I have a working MSC only USB class for the STM32F746G Discovery board using the HAL PCD module and want to extend it to a USB composite device including a generic HID as well. The HID device would allows transfer of a generic 64 byte packet both ways between a PC and the device. I have such a composite device working on the STM32F4 discovery board but its uses the std periph library and the F4 series middleware USB driver.

To save me time and trouble (I always have trouble when using the wretched HAL layer), has anyone already done this for the F7 chips and could share their code with me?

Thanks.
6 REPLIES 6
anonymous.8
Senior II
Posted on June 01, 2017 at 15:36

So, no-one replied as obviously no-one had already achieved this. So I did it alone and now have a working USB composite (MSC + Custom HID)  device. I had to make substantial changes to the USB device core and initialization code as follows:

Several changes have been made to the USB device Init code for the application as well as changes to the usb device core data structures (usbd_def.h) and usbd_core.c/h and usbd_ctlreq.c/h.

1. USB directory structure: There are four sub-directories for the USB Composite device :

i. common - containing code common to both interfaces of the composite device. These are usbd_conf.c/h and usbd_desc_composite.c/h.

ii. devicecore - containing usbd_core.c/h, usbd_ctlreq.c/h, usbd_ioreq.c/h and usbd_def.h.

iii. hid – containing hid class specific code.

iv. msc – containing msc class specific code.

2. Changes to core data structures: