cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips for custom bootloader/application?

Dave Jones
Associate III
Posted on May 17, 2017 at 19:55

I'm new to STM32, though I've programmed other micros for decades. I'm doing my first project with an STM32L4 and need to create a custom bootloader in lower flash and an application in upper flash. I've done this before with PIC24 parts where I created 2 projects, one for the bootloader and one for the application, each with a custom linker script that forced the linker to keep them within their specific areas of flash. The bootloader set the config fuses and was burned in by the programming cable. The application was installed via a uSD card. It had to be built using identical config fuses because it didn't actually set them when installed, since it was the bootloader that simply placed the application into a portion of flash.

I'm assuming I would do something very similar here.

1 - are linker scripts tool specific? I'm using 'System Workbench' (SW4STM32). How do I find out about modifying the linker script for my needs?

2 - is there any example code of in-chip flash programming available for the STM32L4?

3 - if I understand it correctly, it's possible for the application code to move the interrupt table to RAM and use it from there? (since it can't use the interrupt table from the custom bootloader) Is this true? Anything special I need to know about doing that?

Thanks,

4 REPLIES 4
Posted on May 17, 2017 at 20:10

1 - GNU Linker Scripts are different from Keil Scatter Files, perform a similar job of describing memory placement to linker. ie Boot at the beginning of FLASH, App 0x4000 (or whatever) deeper. Adjust the base/size of the regions to match needs. Look at some examples, read documentation, repeat.

2 - Look at IAP examples ST provides for several of the families, process all very similar