Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F407 and UlinkPro D

Bjoernar Maelum
Associate II
Posted on March 15, 2017 at 17:45

Hello!

I want to program/debug an STM32F407 using the UlinkPro D. I have connected the Ulink to STM32 using datasheet for the micro controller and found what I think is the correct pinout for the Ulink.

Serial Wire Debug is being used as this seems the easiest, unless you have a better suggestion for this micro controller.

I am a beginner at this and wonder if there is a tutorial somewhere, and if not: Can I find a Setup Guide of some sort to connect the two devices?

Is there anything specific I have to do to the STM32 or in Keil other than checking if the Ulink is connected and then trying to flash?

The error 'SWD Communication Failure' is showing when I look at setting under 'Debug' in the 'Options for target...'.

Thanks,

Bjørnar
9 REPLIES 9
Posted on March 15, 2017 at 18:25

http://www2.keil.com/coresight/coresight-connectors/

Sounds like it is not wired up properly. External pods tend to depend on getting the VTref (Target Voltage) to power their buffers. Make sure you don't have the connection backward.

For wiring of the board headers, I suggest a review the STM3240G-EVAL or MCBSTM32F400 schematics. The later I've used with the U-LINK Pro (non D), you have to disconnect some high order address pins via jumpers for trace

http://www.keil.com/mcbstm32f400/

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Posted on March 16, 2017 at 15:06

It seems I have connected the pins correctly.

The reason I am doing this is to learn how to program the STM32F407VGT6 chip. I am making my own PCB and want to know how to program the chip before I print the PCB. Is it better to use an ST-Link for this? As I mentioned earlier I am fairly new to this and does not know quite where to begin.