cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

use X-NUCLEO-53L0A1 satellites as proximity sensor

Alessandro Capezzera
Associate II

Posted on March 29, 2017 at 08:37

Hi, I'm new with stm32 and mbed environment. I'm trying to use VL53L0X satellites as proximity/distance sensor but I have few unsolved questions:

1)

in this datasheet I can see that only first six pin of satellites are used:

<LINK NO LONGER ACTIVE>

is right?

2)

is there an easy example on how to use it like this for hcsr04 arduino sensor:

<LINK NO LONGER ACTIVE>

?? (examples given by downloading his own software are little bit difficult based to my knowledge)

3) which pins i have to connect if I don't want putting this board on the stm32 board?

Thanks for the support

5 REPLIES 5
John Alexander_O
ST Employee
Posted on March 29, 2017 at 16:06

1) Only pins 1-6 are used on the satellite board. The pin mappings are :

Pin 1 - VL53L0X Interrupt pin.

Pin 2 - I2C SCL.

Pin 3 - VL53L0X XShutdown pin.

Pin 4 - I2C SDA.

Pin 5 - +3v3 input. VDD_Sensor.

Pin 6 - GND(Ground).

Pins 7-10 are unused & unconnected.

2) There is a simple 'hello world' application (HellowWorld_53L0A1), using the central, onboard VL53L0X sensor available at :

https://developer.mbed.org/components/X-NUCLEO-53L0A1/

There will be a library update and further example programs published next week (wk14, 2017.)

3) The X_Nucleo_53L0A1 expansion board uses the following pins to connect to each sensor :

CN5 Arduino Connector

D8 (Pin 1) - GPIO1_L, left satellite VL53L0X interrupt.

GND (Pin 7) - Ground

D14(Pin 9) - I2C SDA.

D15(Pin 10) - I2C SCL.

CN6 Arduino Connector

+3v3(Pin4)

GND(Pin 6 & 7)

CN8 Arduino Connector

A2(Pin 3) - GPIO1, centre/on-board VL53L0X interrupt

CN9 Arduino Connector

D2(Pin 3) - GPIO1_R, right satellite VL53L0X interrupt.

These are defined in Tables 3 & 4 in the user manual (UM2047), available from the url link below.