Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to start with asembler on Cortex M4

Stefan Wozniak
Associate III
Posted on May 12, 2017 at 08:48

Hi,

I'm new at STM32. (I own DISCOVERY board STM32F411E-Disco) I have written few programs using Cube and HAL but now I need to use assembler.

Can you share any sources where should I start to learn using assembler? Any 'Hello World' for assembler would be great. Or 'STM32 assembler for dummies'

As I mentioned I'm new in STM32 so please send me direct links, STM datasheets are something new for me and I don't know with one is correct. There is a lot of them for each micro Procesor. I used to use Atmel.

I'm using AC6 with Toolchain SW4STM32 if this is the case.

Why assembler:

I need to very precisely turn on and off pin according to data in an array. Time of pulse can vary but the smallest one is 0,5 us +/- 150ns.

(I need to control WS2811).

The task is to convert 8bit values array to pulses.

1->0.5us High, 2.0 us Low

0->1.2us High, 1.3 us Low

at the end of data

50us Low

Timer with interrupts (on HAL) was too slow in my tests.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Best Regards,

Stefan
8 REPLIES 8
Posted on May 12, 2017 at 14:44

You'd be better off driving GPIO via a pattern table in RAM, using DMA clocked with a TIM

For singular bits a TIM in PWM mode would suffice, again with the pulse train driven by a RAM based array loaded with DMA (TIM Update)

Assembler has been covered here before, best placed in startup.s file and called from regular code.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
S.Ma
Principal
Posted on May 12, 2017 at 15:10

Look at the DMA Stream/Channel table and find out if one timer has its Channel covered.