Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programming Flash in STM32F407

Ronald Brouwers
Associate II
Posted on April 05, 2017 at 22:20

Hi,

First, let me just say that I am new to the STM32 series of microcontrollers, so if I am asking the obvious, or has already answered somewhere else, I apologize.

Now, I want to use a bank of STM32F407s as co-processors for a bigger computer system. To this effect, I need to download firmware to the STM32s from the main CPU over and over again. I know I can do this using the bootloader in the STM32's system memory, but I am worried that it will not be able to recover, should the system memory gets corrupted.

So, I would love to program my code directly into the STM32's flash memory using JTAG or something similar, without going through software running on the chip. There is a lot of info about how to do this on the STM8 family, but nothing on the STM32.

How can I do that?

Ronald

5 REPLIES 5
Posted on April 07, 2017 at 01:20

I know I can do this using the bootloader in the STM32's system memory, but I am worried that it will not be able to recover, should the system memory gets corrupted.

This is not very likely without the chip being subjected to environmental stress far beyond normal operating conditions. Do you plan to operate it e.g. in a highly radioactive environment or at extreme temperatures?

You don't need to believe me but this is the way to go; the other one is lengthy, obscure, and full of pitfalls.

There is a lot of info about how to do this on the STM8 family, but nothing on the STM32.