cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

high voltage (80v) brushless motor control(FOC)

Dillon Stewart
Associate II
Posted on April 20, 2017 at 03:01

Hello,

What would be recommended to drive an 80V max brushless motor?

I noticed all the integrated motor controllers are all relatively low voltage (45v max).  I would like to use the Nucleo-144 F7 series for this project if I cannot use one of the awesome integrated motor control solution chips / dev boards.

Thanks in advance!

Dillon

#field-oriented-control #motor-control #stm32-pmsm-foc #brushless-motor #nucleo-f767zi #development-board #high-voltage
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Lead
Posted on April 20, 2017 at 10:06

I'm not an expert with motor control itself, to be fair.

But I suggest to broaden your view, and have a look at motor control evaluation kits of other suppliers.

Many of them provide schematics, so I'm pretty sure you will find some inspirations there.

I definitely know TI has some, but didn't check the others recently.

And with proper evaluation of the MCUs/variants they are easily interchangeable - with moderate SW porting effort.

BTW, in reference to relevant threads here and elsewhere, I would go for a solution with galvanic isolation between MCU and motor driver hardware...

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Lead
Posted on April 20, 2017 at 10:06

I'm not an expert with motor control itself, to be fair.

But I suggest to broaden your view, and have a look at motor control evaluation kits of other suppliers.

Many of them provide schematics, so I'm pretty sure you will find some inspirations there.

I definitely know TI has some, but didn't check the others recently.

And with proper evaluation of the MCUs/variants they are easily interchangeable - with moderate SW porting effort.

BTW, in reference to relevant threads here and elsewhere, I would go for a solution with galvanic isolation between MCU and motor driver hardware...

Dillon Stewart