cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SD card no response for CMD0

Clament John
Associate II
Posted on May 11, 2017 at 11:09

A device I had been testing for over two months suddenly started giving FR_DISK_ERR (I'm using Elm Chan's FAT-FS) [

http://elm-chan.org/fsw/ff/00index_e.html

]. When I tried debugging, the command (CMD0) which must be clocked in to set the SD card into SPI mode (as described in the SD card spec sheet - SDcard.org [

https://www.sdcard.org/developers/overview/sdio/sdio_spec/Simplified_SDIO_Card_Spec.pdf

)  return 0xFF and not 0x01, i.e. it failed. 

My question is:

*If CMD0 fails does that mean the SD card controller is not working?

*Will it still work in SDIO mode even if CMD0 fails? (I couldn't test it as my uC does not support SDIO)

*Can an OS (Linux, Windows, Mac) format this SD card to make it working again? If so how does it do it?

--Linux's (I'm using Ubuntu) gparted was giving an error while it was trying to read the disk. I got an error 'input/output error during read on /dev/sdb' Does this mean the SD card is a 'gonner'/ never going to work?

#sdio-chan-fatfs #fat-fs #micro-sd-card
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Clament John
Associate II
Posted on May 11, 2017 at 17:40

My first question was answered.

If CMD0 fails does that mean the SD card controller is not working?

Yes, this means the SD controller isn't working. Thanks,

Turvey.Clive.002

meyer.frank

Will it still work in SDIO mode even if CMD0 fails?

I'm going to assume SDIO won't work, as the controller might be 'broken'

Can an OS (Linux, Windows, Mac) format this SD card to make it working again? If so how does it do it?