Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HAL_SPI_Transmit takes too long

e d
Associate II
Posted on May 22, 2017 at 19:51

Hi guys,

I am working with the STM32L486 using the CubeMX tool and running into some SPI issue that I can't seem to figure out (I am new to ST chipsets btw). Specifically the

HAL_SPI_Transmit routine takes to long compared to the fraction of the time the data is transmitted, as can be seen in the scope image below with yellow being the clock, blue being the data and pink the test point PA0_SET I wiggle (code below). The scope shows that theHAL_SPI_Transmit takes up to 4uS, which is ridiculous. Any idea how to speed this up close to the time it takes for the data to transmit (around 1.44uS)?

Thanks,

ED

PA0_SET;

Spi.Status = HAL_SPI_Transmit(&hspi2,(uint8_t *) &DDS_Cmd, sizeof(DDS_Cmd)>>1, 2);

PA0_CLEAR;

0690X000006072dQAA.png

#hal_spi_transmit

Note: this post was migrated and contained many threaded conversations, some content may be missing.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Posted on May 24, 2017 at 16:09

I used the higher level initialization function HAL_SPI_Init(); followed by LL_SPI_Enable(SPI2);

The latter may be what you are missing.  Also, you may need to enable the clock for GPIOB.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Chris1
Senior III
Posted on May 23, 2017 at 16:05

Consider use of the Low Level HAL functions, especially if you are writing a small number of bytes.

For example:

static void SPI2_WriteByte (uint8_t tx_byte)

{

uint32_t start_time_w;

uint32_t this_time_w;

while (!LL_SPI_IsActiveFlag_TXE(SPI2))

{

;

}

start_time_w = HAL_GetTick();

LL_SPI_TransmitData8(SPI2, tx_byte);

while (LL_SPI_IsActiveFlag_BSY(SPI2))

{

this_time_w = HAL_GetTick() - start_time_w;

if (this_time_w > SPI2_READ_TIMEOUT)

{

// timeout error!

break; 

}

}

LL_SPI_ClearFlag_OVR(SPI2); // clear overrun flag

}
e d
Associate II
Posted on May 23, 2017 at 20:02

Thanks Chris for the tip!