Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General USART2 issues on STM32F3

Kevin Dominic Merkel
Associate II
Posted on May 27, 2017 at 00:08

Hello everyone, 

I started programming for one of my student projects but I am pretty hung up on the USART2 configuring. I have worked with Arduinos before, but I must admit that STM32 is a complete different level

🙂

I am using the STM32F303VCT6 on the DiscoveryBoard with the STLink2 included. I am trying to figure out this USART stuff but I can not make much sense of all the data sheets. I am a aerospace engineer with some C programming experience, but working with those cryptic datasheets is completely new to me. 

I really hope some of you guys have some patience and motivation to help me out with my project. Basically I need to connect my PC with the STM (USART2) and the STM with a Camera(UART1). The STM32 should send some hex characters to the cam so it makes a picture and after that receive the pic and send it to the pc. 

I am stuck at the beginning and need to activate the USART2 connection. I have connected an FTDI to USART2 but and try to send characters with hterm to start an interrupt, but nothing happens. Obviously it is my code, but I do not know whats wrong. I guess it is more than one mistake

🙂

At first I just want to send a character from PC and turn an LED on if the character is received with the interrupt. The code is here: 

I uploaded the code here:

https://codepaste.net/i9psat

If more Information is needed don't hesitate to ask. 

Thanks in advance, 

Kevin Dominic

12 REPLIES 12
Posted on May 28, 2017 at 17:27

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Mode = GPIO_Mode_AF; // This is separate from mux setting itself

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Kevin Dominic Merkel
Associate II
Posted on May 28, 2017 at 21:01

Hi Clive One,