cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Audio Visual STM32F429 Project

Terence D
Senior
Posted on September 09, 2017 at 01:57

Hi - I'm new to the STM development boards.  I've done A LOT with a TI TM4C123G (Tiva LaunchPad - ARM Cortex-M4F) which appears to be similar to the STM32F429 that I recently acquired.

I've just now (with not much effort) got the typical blinking light example working.  This is the STM32CubeF4 example under Projects/STM32F429I-Discovery/Examples/GPIO/GPIO_EXTI.  This example, as well as every other one I've looked at in the STM32CubeF4 Examples directory uses the STM32F4 HAL API (document of the HAL API

http://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/user_manual/2f/71/ba/b8/75/54/47/cf/DM00105879.pdf/files/DM00105879.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM00105879.pdf

).  

In my first 'real' project I'm looking to use my STM32F429 to play some audio (through an I2S DAC I have) while also displaying some data on the LCD screen (possibly a histogram of the audio).  I'm assuming using the HAL API is the best approach here, correct?

Just want to make sure I'm going down the right path before diving in.  If anyone could confirm my assumption, I'd greatly appreciate it.  Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
T J
Lead
Posted on September 11, 2017 at 01:59

Just an update for you.

I had the Can-Bus running sweet on the '091 processor, for the last 6 months, without errors. ( 20KHz

:(

for 1KM range)

dropped the code onto the '767 board yesterday, only slight fiddling and it works.

So, Yes HAL is quite portable.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
T J
Lead
Posted on September 09, 2017 at 03:34

Hi,

I am working with HAL on two different processor boards, '092  '767

there is some differences, but overall, once the boards are running, they seem very stable.

Hopefully Clive will chime in.

T J
Lead
Posted on September 09, 2017 at 06:45